56 Shpalernaya street (metro station “Chernyshevskaya”)
From 10.00 to 19.00

(812) 438-43-75
(812) 275-43-25
(812) 438-43-01

Switch to english version Перейти на русскую версию
Watch
presentation
The Water Tower

The Water Tower, which was the beginning of the centralized water supply in St. Petersburg, was built in 1859–1861 by the architects E.G. Shubersky and I.A. Merts. However, the Tower was properly used not for a long time – the technical progress in the beginning of the ХХ century made the tower go "on a pension".

In 2001– 2002, Vodokanal implemented capital repair of this grand facility using up-to-date technologies and breathed a new life into the old water tower.

Reconstruction implemented by the architectural bureau "Intercolumnium" was the first experience when the old industrial complex was renewed and started performing new functions in St. Petersburg. Recently it has been one of the most popular architectural trends in the world.

Evgeni Podgornov, Evgeni Zakhoroshko and Tatiana Shustrova, the architects of "Intercolumnium", decided to keep historical interior and to move a fire escape staircase and the second lift into a separate extension, they became the main point of reconstruction. The architectural essence of any tower is going up and this glass vertical structure reflects this yearning. The glass and metal structure symbolizes an ice column, water flow and in the best way possible comply with the museum theme.

The design of the historical exhibition was developed by the creative team "InterStil" headed by M.V. Dynai. The museum exhibition interior reflects the main idea of their creators: both to keep the tower as an architectural monument and to make it as dynamic and modern as possible.

An unusual fountain installed in the tower's hall - a symbol of Vodokanal of St. Petersburg and the water world in general. This is a perfect etalon of unified beauty and rationalism. In the common city fountains enormous water amounts of drinking water from the water supplying network are consumed, here the limited water volume in closed circle is used: water goes down along the strings and then goes up.

I.A. Merz, Engineer

Old Water Tower

Water Tower after reconstruction

Fountain in the hall of the Water Tower

Водонапорная башня

 

Водонапорная башня, с которой в свое время началась история централизованного водоснабжения в Санкт-Петербурге, была построена в 1859–1861 годах архитекторами Э.Г. Шуберским и И.А. Мерцем.

 

Однако использовалась по прямому назначению башня очень недолго - технический прогресс в начале ХХ века отправил ее «на пенсию».

В 2001–2002 годах петербургский Водоканал осуществил капитальный ремонт этого грандиозного сооружения, применив современные технологии и вдохнув в старинную водонапорную башню новую жизнь.

Реконструкция, осуществленная архитектурным бюро «Интерколумниум», стала первым петербургским опытом возрождения старинного промышленного здания и придания ему новой функции. В последние годы это одна из самых популярных мировых архитектурных тенденций.

Архитекторы студии «Интерколумниум» Евгений Подгорнов, Евгений Захорошко и Татьяна Шустова решили сохранить исторические интерьеры, а пожарную лестницу и второй лифт вынести в отдельную пристройку, сделав их основным акцентом реконструкции. Архитектурная сущность любой башни – стремление верх, и стеклянная вертикаль открывает это движение, обычно скрытое от глаз зрителя. Кирпичное здание как бы дублируется, утрачивая при этом свою «материальность». Эта стеклянно-металлическая конструкция символизирует ледяной столп, поток воды, что как нельзя лучше сочетается с тематикой музея.

Дизайн-проект исторической экспозиции был выполнен творческим коллективом «ИнтерСтиль», во главе с М.В. Дынай. Интерьер музейной экспозиции отражает основной замысел его создателей - сохранить башню как архитектурный памятник и в то же время сделать музей максимально динамичным, современным.

В холле башни установлен необычный фонтан – символ петербургского Водоканала и мира воды в целом. Это замечательный образец единения красоты и рационализма. Если в обычных городских фонтанах расходуется огромное количество очищенной питьевой воды из городского водопровода, то здесь используется ограниченный объем воды, движущейся по замкнутому циклу: вода струйками вниз стекает по натянутым струнам и затем поднимается наверх.

Инженер И.А.Мерц

Старинная Водонапорная башня

Водонапорная башня после реконструкции

Фонтан в холле Водонапорной башни