56 Shpalernaya street (metro station “Chernyshevskaya”)
From 10.00 to 19.00

(812) 438-43-75
(812) 275-43-25
(812) 438-43-01

Switch to english version Перейти на русскую версию
Watch
presentation
The Water World of St. Petersburg

The exhibition “The Water World of St. Petersburg” is located on the third, fourth and sixth floors of the old Water Tower.

The documents, pictures, things, collection of sanitary items and manhole covers show the history of beginning and development of the water supply and sewage systems in Petersburg based on historical materials from its foundation to our days.

Although, the exhibition starts on the third floor with the history of water networks of different epochs and nations in the Antique World, Middle Ages, Ancient Russia. In addition to models, video films and drawings, visitors can look at original items, different types of wells, wooden pipes etc.

The second part of the exhibition on the third floor narrates about water supply and wastewater disposal in St. Petersburg from the first years of the city on the Neva up to 1858, when the St. Petersburg Water Supply Joint-Stock Company was established. Citizens having houses at the numerous rivers and canals embankments had own water supply during the first one hundred and a half years of the St. Petersburg history. But citizens having houses remote from water sources used services of water carriers. As for wastewater disposal, construction of underground channels for rainwater discharge was started already under Catherine II. However, the centralized sewage system in the city on the Neva River appeared only in the XX century.

The history of centralized water supply development in St. Petersburg including the Tower history is represented on the fourth floor .

The history of the Northern Capital’s centralized water supply goes back to 10 October 1858, when the Charter of “St. Petersburg Water Pipelines Joint-Stock Company” was approved by the Russian Emperor Alexander II. This date is considered to be the birthday of SUE “Vodokanal of St. Petersburg”.

Philosophy of scientific progress and specific solutions for water treatment, water supply to our houses and enterprises and many other things from our everyday life are interweaved in the story about Petersburg water networks development. Historical documents, drawings, pictures are demonstrated in the museum show-cases. Visitors can stop by the Manager office, “look through” the pictures of old baths, toilets and see some most interesting items in their natural size.

The exhibition on the sixth floor consists of two sections. The first of them tells about heroic, selfless labour of Vodokanal employees in the course of the Great Patriotic War 1941–1945. During the siege, the enemy paid special attention to firing and bombardment of water supply and sewage facilities, as they played an extremely important role in the city life. Most part of Vodokanal's personnel stayed at work round the clock. The expensive price was paid for the smooth operation of essential city systems: 882 people did not come to see the salute in celebration of lifting the siege...

The second section is dedicated to the contemporary period of water supply and wastewater treatment sector development in the city on the Neva River. Visitors can learn how SUE “Vodokanal of St. Petersburg” treats and supplies drinking water to the citizens and learn about wastewater transportation and treatment.

Manager of Water Networks Office is reconstructed in the museum

Rich collection of sanitary ware is represented on the exhibition

Water well is also a museum exhibit

Мир воды Санкт-Петербурга

Экспозиция «Мир воды Санкт-Петербурга» размещена в залах на третьем, четвертом и шестом этажах старинной Водонапорной башни.

Собранные здесь документы, изображения, предметы, коллекция сантехнических приборов и люков позволяют на историческом материале показать историю возникновения и развития водопровода и канализации в Петербурге от его основания до наших дней.

Однако открывается экспозиция представленной на третьем этаже темой истории водопроводов в минувшие эпохи у разных народов – в Античном мире, в Средние века, в Древней Руси. Помимо макетов, видеофильмов, графических листов, посетитель здесь увидит и оригинальные предметы: различные типы колодцев, деревянные трубы и т.д.

Вторая часть экспозиции третьего этажа повествует о водоснабжении и водоотведении в Санкт-Петербурге с первых лет существования города на Неве и до 1858 года, когда было учреждено Общество Санкт-Петербургских водопроводов. Первые полторы сотни лет петербургской истории жители домов на набережных многочисленных рек, речек и каналов обеспечивали себя водой сами. Обитатели домов, более удаленных от источников воды, пользовались услугами водовозов и водоносов. Что касается канализации, то уже при Екатерине II было начато строительство на главных улицах подземных каналов для отвода дождевой воды. Но централизованная система канализации города на Неве появилась только в XX веке.

На четвертом этаже представлена история создания централизованного водопровода в Петербурге – в том числе и история самой башни, в которой находится музей.

Начало централизованного водоснабжения в Северной столице было положено созданием акционерной компании – Общества Санкт-Петербургских водопроводов, устав которого был утвержден императором Александром II 10 октября 1858 года. Эта дата считается днем рождения ГУП «Водоканал Санкт-Петербурга».

В рассказе о развитии петербургского водопровода переплелись и философия научного прогресса, и конкретные решения, связанные с проблемами очистки воды, подачи ее в наши дома или на предприятия, и многое другое, из чего складывается наш повседневный быт. Исторические документы, чертежи, рисунки представлены в витринах музея. Здесь посетители могут побывать в кабинете управляющего, «перелистать» фотографии старинных ванн, туалетов, а с некоторыми интереснейшими экземплярами ознакомиться и в их натуральном виде.

Экспозиция шестого этажа состоит из двух разделов. Первый из них повествует о героическом, самоотверженном труде работников Водоканала в годы Великой Отечественной войны 1941–1945 гг. Во время блокады враг особое внимание уделял обстрелам и бомбардировкам водопроводных и канализационных сооружений, как чрезвычайно важных для жизнедеятельности города объектам. Значительная часть специалистов Водоканала была переведена на казарменное положение. За бесперебойную работу жизненно важных городских систем была заплачена дорогая цена. 882 человека 27 января 1944 года не пришли на праздничный салют в честь снятия блокады...

Второй раздел посвящен современному периоду развития водопроводно-канализационного хозяйства города на Неве. Здесь можно узнать, как ГУП «Водоканал Санкт-Петербурга» готовит и подает питьевую воду в дома горожан, как обеспечивается транспортировка и очистка сточных вод.

В музее воссоздан кабинет управляющего петербургским водопроводом

В экспозиции представлена богатая коллекция предметов сантехники

Колодец - тоже музейный экспонат